Bharat Ratna: Historic Honors Unveiled

( Read 1430 Times)

10 Feb 24
Share |
Print This Page
Bharat Ratna: Historic Honors Unveiled


Gopendra Nath Bhatt

On Friday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi declared the Bharat Ratna for former Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh, P.V. Narasimha Rao, and Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, shaping a new chapter in the country's history. The announcement was made through his official social media handles, garnering widespread attention.

Earlier this year, on February 3, the Indian government had revealed its decision to award Bharat Ratna to former Deputy Prime Minister Lal Krishna Advani and Bihar's former Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur. Subsequently, on Friday, the prestigious honor was extended to Chaudhary Charan Singh, P.V. Narasimha Rao, and Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, further elevating the enthusiasm and anticipation across the nation.

This decision comes as a significant move by Prime Minister Modi to recognize the exceptional contributions of these personalities to the nation. The Bharat Ratna, established in 1954, is the highest civilian award and is conferred upon individuals who have displayed outstanding service in various fields, without any discrimination based on caste, profession, position, or gender.

The atmosphere in the country has become charged with excitement and optimism, as the announcement has come just before the 75th Republic Day, adding a special significance to the occasion. It remains to be seen whether in the coming years or even this year, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will bestow the Bharat Ratna on other distinguished personalities like Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, creating a new chapter in the nation's history."

Source :
This Article/News is also avaliable in following categories : India
Your Comments ! Share Your Openion

You May Like